New Medicine Foundation is here to assist you in becoming a legal Medical Marijuana Patient in the State of Florida. We will assist in the medical cannabis recommendation process so you can apply for your medical marijuana ID card as quickly as possible.
Our primary goal is provide our patients with a safe and effective way to seek cannabis therapy for their medical conditions. New Medicine Health & Wellness has been assisting patients since 2014 under the compassionate use act. Now with amendment #2 in place anyone with medical conditions ranging from chronic pain to a more serious type illness can qualify.
Our knowledgeable Physician and staff will assist you with every phase of the process while staying in full compliance with the Florida medical marijuana laws and rule making process set forth by the Florida Department of Heath.
How much does it cost to get my Florida Medical Marijuana Card?
Initial visit - $249.00
Re-Certification(30 weeks or every 210 days) - $150.00
How often do I need to see the doctor?
Under Florida law patients must be seen at minimum of once every 210 days, or at least once every 30 weeks.For patients who are cannabis inexperienced or are extremely debilitated, the physician has the right and responsibility to see the patient on a more regular basis.
How does the Florida Medical Marijuana Program work?
Individuals suffering from chronic and debilitating illnesses are eligible to receive medical cannabis within the state of Florida.To begin the process, a patient must have an in-person visit with a Florida physician who is certified in compassionate use. In order to provide certifications to patients, a doctor must have an active, unrestricted medical license and must complete a course issued by the Florida Medical Association.Once the physician has examined the patient, he or she can qualify (or “certify”) them to be able to purchase medical marijuana. After a patient is certified by a physician they must complete a medical marijuana ID card application with the Department of Health. When the Department approves the patient’s ID card application, the patient is legally then able to visit any of the state’s dispensaries or call a Medical Marijuana Treatment Center to arrange for delivery.The law requires patients to be re-certified each 210 days, and the physician can certify up to a 70-day supply of cannabis at a time at a maximum daily dose that is yet to be determined by the Department of Health.
What conditions qualify me for the program?
Qualifying conditions are specified within the state Constitution and are as follows:
What if I am not suffering from any of the conditions listed?
While ten different debilitating conditions are enumerated within the law, the state Constitution allows physicians the authority to certify patients who are suffering from “medical conditions of the same kind or class” for which the physician believes the benefits to the patient would outweigh the risk. Because cannabis has had no instances of fatality, has a small and predictable side effect profile, has very few drug interactions, and has shown promise in the treatment for many different ailments, it is easy for the physician to certify a course of cannabis treatment for a wide variety of illnesses upon examination of the patient and review of the patient’s medical history.
CONDITIONS THAT COULD QUALIFY
Although the following conditions are not written into Florida’s Amendment 2, the initiative indicates that other diagnosable, debilitating conditions of like, kind, or class may be eligible for a medical marijuana certification.
What is low-THC cannabis?
In Florida, low-THC cannabis distinct from medical cannabis in that it contains very low amounts of the psychoactive component tetrahydrocannabinol (THC). Because of its low levels of THC, low-THC products do not have the euphoric properties of full-potency cannabis and typically do not result in patients experiencing the “high” commonly associated with cannabis. In order to qualify as low-THC, the flowers, seeds, resin, and any other product derived from the cannabis plant must contain 0.8 percent or less of THC and more than 10 percent of cannabidiol (CBD) weight for weight.
What is medical cannabis?
In Florida, medical cannabis is distinct from low-THC cannabis in that it can contain significant amounts of tetrahydrocannabinol (THC). This is the chemical compound that causes the “high” commonly associated with cannabis. The term medical cannabis includes all parts of a cannabis plant, its seeds, resin extracted from any part of the plant; and every compound, manufacture, sale, derivative, mixture, or preparation of the plant or its seeds or resin.
How do I become a medical marijuana patient for the expanded conditions under Amendment 2?
It is the responsibility of the qualified ordering physician to follow Florida constitution and statute, diagnose patients and determine if medical marijuana is an appropriate treatment. Florida law has several requirements for patients to be eligible:A patient must have been diagnosed with a qualifying condition.A patient must be a Florida resident.If under the age of 18, a patient must have a second physician agree to the use in order to obtain an order from a qualified physician.A patient must have tried other treatments without success.An ordering physician must determine the risks of use are reasonable in light of the benefit to the patient.A patient must be registered with the Compassionate Use Registry by their ordering physician.
Are there any restrictions once I obtain medical marijuana ordered by a qualified physician and dispensed by a licensed dispensing organization?
Yes, the medical use of marijuana does NOT include the following:The transfer to a person other than the qualified patient for whom it was ordered or their legal representative.The use or administration on any form of public transportation, in any public place, in a qualified patient’s place of employment, if restricted by his or her employer, in a state correctional institution, on the grounds of a preschool, primary school, or secondary school or any school bus or vehicle.
Who needs to have a Compassionate Use Registry identification card?
Florida rule 64-4.011, F.A.C. requires all patients and legal representatives to have a Compassionate Use Registry identification card to obtain medical cannabis, low-THC cannabis, or a cannabis delivery device from a licensed dispensing organization.
How do I use Compassionate Use Registry identification card?
Patients and legal representatives must provide their Compassionate Use Registry identification card to dispensing organizations in order to obtain medical cannabis, low-THC cannabis, or a cannabis delivery device. Compassionate Use Registry identification cards may also be used to assist in verifying that a patient or legal representative are in the Department of Health’s Compassionate Use Registry.
How do I apply for a card?
The Department accepts applications from patients and legal representatives. Patients must be entered into the Compassionate Use Registry by a qualified physician to receive a card. Applications may be submitted online through the Compassionate Use Registry, or mailed to the Office of Compassionate Use. All applications must provide proof of residency within 90 day, and a registration fee of $75.More information on the application process can be found here: http://www.floridahealth.gov/OCU
Can I obtain medical cannabis or low-THC cannabis while my card application is being processed?
Yes. The Office of Compassionate Use will send patients and legal representatives a temporary Compassionate Use Registry identification card once their card application has been approved. Temporary cards may not be used once a patient has been sent a permanent card.
How do I renew my card?
To maintain an active Compassionate Use Registry identification card, a patient and/or legal representative must annually submit a renewal application, along with the application fee and any required accompanying documents to the department forty-five (45) days prior to the card expiration date.
What happens if I need to change the information on my card?
Requests to replace a lost or stolen card will require the cardholder to submit a Change, Replacement or Surrender Request Form, along with a copy of his or her Florida driver’s license or identification card and a $15 replacement fee.
New Medicine Foundation
510 Southeast Dixie Highway, Stuart, Florida 34994, United States
COPYRIGHT © 2020 NEW MEDICINE FOUNDATION - ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.
THE INFORMATION ON THIS WEBSITE HAS NOT BEEN EVALUATED BY THE FDA AND IS NOT INTENDED TO TREAT, CURE, OR PREVENT ANY DISEASE